The Meg 2018 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

Movie Information

  • Movie Release Date-August 10, 2018
  • Director: Jon Turteltaub
  • Studio: Warner Bros.
  • Genre: Action/Adventure
  • Topics: Ocean Creatures
  • Run time: 113 minutes
  • MPAA rating: PG-13
  • MPAA explanation: action/peril, bloody images and some language

Now when doing a movie review we need to point out certain aspects about these films. The first thing we need to ask ourselves what parents need to know about this film. I will tell you this The Meg is definitely an action movie with a prehistoric gigantic shark and a team of heroes that is led by Jason staff as a try to stop this creature. Know what about this film should parents be aware of is loaded with all kinds of blood and this includes wounds, blood swirling in the water etc.…

We definitely cannot forget the shark attacks as they are often sudden and startling at the same time. I also like to mention that this bill is also loaded with lots of explosions and yes a ton of destruction and carnage. There are many different mangled sharks and sea creatures that are shown and it even shows a woman is accidentally stabbed with a screwdriver and there is also a scene were a young girl is briefly in danger. Also I like to mention that the dog that is swimming in the water is also in danger however it does come back to safety.

Like most movies today and they are filled with indecent words that are not appropriate for younger audiences. Now with that being said let us get into the actual movie review and what I thought about the film.

As we all know there is a wealthy investor and his name is Jack Morris (Rainn Wilson) does travel to China to see his new research station and this man is a billionaire. Now this research station had discovered that there is a layer of frozen gas which they thought was part of the sea floor. They somehow managed to break through only to discover there is a giant creature lurking below.

Now this particular part is interesting on a scientific level as they soon discover what it is that is down there. I found this quote quite interesting as in most scientific type movies or any kind of monster movie there is always a certain level of science to it and it does not make it interesting for these type of movies. Anyway they soon discover that there is a gigantic prehistoric Megalodon that everyone assumed was extinct. Now I realize that it does exist and yes it does manage to escape that frozen cavern and wreak havoc in the local area.

Now that it does manage to escape they leave it up to Jonas (Jason Statham) and a shark expert Suyin (Bingbing Li) as well as the rest of the team in order to stop this gigantic shark.

Now this film in itself and this is to be expected like most shark films draws premise from the original Jaws which came out June 20, 1975 and most movies that come out that are based on a shark has a lot to do with the premise of this movie as well. The movie does start off quite well as it does have some clever scientific discovery which I mentioned earlier which in my opinion could have been explored a little bit more as we can possibly discovered something other than the Megalodon. There is no telling what was in that ice pocket

Before actually seeing this movie we pretty much know if you are a shark fan what this movie is going to be simply about. As I mentioned before it takes a lot of the elements from the original movie Jaws. The only exception is the fact that this particular gigantic shark is totally CGI. Now there are a lot of reviewers out there that will criticize the action sequence as being not exactly terrible, certainly clunky, and they also mention that there are plenty of large meaningless, largely bloodless slaughter’s that does not have any impact. That is their opinion in my opinion some of the action sequences in this film I thoroughly enjoyed especially when we soon discover that there was an even larger Megalodon that suddenly destroys the ship and bites down on the dead Megalodon. This in my opinion was unexpected but a very cool scene just to say the least.

index

One thing I like to point out is that in the beginning of the movie there is a famous one-liner that was said that is synonymous to all shark movies and some aspects that go ahead and say “there something out there!”.

Now this film’s premise is more along the lines of Jaws meets the abyss in this long-awaited adaption of Steve Alten’s 1997 novel that is simply called Meg and it did spawn a total of 6 sequels. With that being said I will end this movie review with this thought it was a good movie with decent CGI and the action sequence I found they were quite comfortable to watch. Like most movies they have a tendency to be a little boring and certain aspects however because I like gigantic shark movies this one was well scripted in my opinion as a story was not really boring at all it kept me enthralled throughout the entire movie.

That honestly does not always happen with me. A prime example of this would be Godzilla 2014 as I began to watch that movie and finish watching the movie there were some spots that did bore me a lot and the only thing about the film in my opinion was the action sequence and some other aspects about the film were okay. This movie did a little bit better for me as I do like the actors and actresses in this film and the storyline was pretty decent and it was typical in some aspects however I did not mind that part because we all know it is a short movie and this is honestly to be expected. All in all this is a pretty decent movie to watch.

With This Being Said Let Us Get into Some Interesting Facts and Trivia Based on This Film.

If you have not seen this film yet and you do not want to be spoiled my suggestion is not to read from this point on!

Let us go ahead and jump right into some spoilers…

1. In the book, the Megalodon’s were classified as pure white and almost luminescent and this is from living in an environment that virtually had no light whatsoever. However that particular color does proved to be too difficult to render in CGI while still trying to look realistic, so the Megalodon’s were actually: in the same color as a great white shark instead.

2. The actress Ruby Rose almost literally drowned on the set.

3. Eli Roth was at one time attached to direct this film however he was replaced by Jon Turteltaub. Roth left due to creative differences with the studio, namely that he wanted the film to maintain both its R-rating and a $150 million budget. It was also rumored that Roth, on top of writing and directing, also wanted to play the lead role of Jonas, but the studio believed he did not have the star power.

4. Now in the film just before the Meg does attack Suyin while she is in the plastic shark cage, you can hear a fast-paced version of the cello theme music from the movie Jaws which came out in 1975.

5. The Meg was actually filmed in New Zealand.

6. The actor Jason Statham is actually an expert swimmer in real life and did in fact represent England in 1990 during the Commonwealth games diving category although he did fail to win. There is footage of him competing you can deftly find this online. Possibly on YouTube. There are a lot of shots of him in the water and they are real and there is also based on global that was only used for the most had hazardous stunts. Outside of that he did most of his stones in the water.

7. This film is actually based on a book called “Meg: a Novel of Deep Terror” this is the first book that was written by the author Steve Alten.

8. At one given point or another Jason Statham’s character, Jonas, literally jumped in the water and start singing to himself, “just keep swimming, just keep swimming…” This is a homage to the character in the animated film “Dory in finding Nemo” which came out in 2003.

9. Now according to the book the Meg only attacked at night since living in the deep water made his eyes super sensitive to the light. It only attacked in daylight when it had been blinded during the course of the book. The movie, however, had the Meg literally in daylight with no consequences.

indexsss

10. Now this film was initially going to be set up at Disney back in 1997 when the book was actually first published. There was a bid which cost the studio nearly USD1 million. The project eventually went into a turnaround after Disney call cold feet after competing with Warner Bros. 1999 killer shark film Deep Blue Sea. Alten, frustrated at the lack of movement based on this project he did in fact write his own draft which he did show to Nick Nunziata, who then in turn delivered to Guillermo del Toro. Del Toro took the project to Lawrence Gordon and Lloyd Levin, who brought on Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life (2003) director Jan De Bont to helm.

11. Now the author of this book his daughter also made an appearance in this film as an extra.

12. The name of the event you do see swimming in the water is named Pippin and this is according to the actual lab in the film Jaws which came out in 1975 that lab was called Pippit.

13. Now here is something interesting in the early stages of development for this film they wanted George Clooney to star in this film.

14. The name of the boat at the end of this film is called “Charlotte” and this is also the name of the ship Benjamin Franklin Gates searches for in the film national treasure which came out in 2004 and that was also directed by Jon Turtltaub.

15. Here is another interesting fact about this film it was originally budgeted for USD130-USD178 million as well as an additional USD140 million for advertisement. The film will need to gross at least USD400 million in order for it to break even. So far as of August 31, 2018 it has made a total of USD416 million so it did in fact breakeven or just a little bit above that.

16. The Meg which came out in 2018 does market return of a noted film producer Gerald R Molen back to Hollywood filmmaking.

17. Here is something quite interesting when Disney Hollywood pictures first bought the rights to the novel back in 1996 they did in fact higher Tom Wheeler is a television writer and producer to write a screenplay for the movie. However, his script was not considered to be a very good script so Disney went ahead and hired another screenwriter Jeffrey Boam, who was most well-known for writing scripts for films such as Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade which came out in 1989, The Lost Boys which came out in 1987, Innerspace which came out in 1987, Lethal Weapon 2 which came out in 1989, and Lethal Weapon 3 which came out in 1992, but his screenplay was also rejected for the same reasons as Wheelers.

18. When New Line Cinema took over the project back in 2005 there was in fact another script that was written by Shane Salerno, writer of both Alien Vs. Predator films, and Jan De Bont was also involved in it as well as a director and Guillermo Del Toro as a producer, but ultimately it did get canceled once again.

19. The Gliders that were used in the climax of this film are named Robert Byrd and Ernest Shackleford.

MV5BMzlhZjAyYjktNjg3Ny00YjJkLTgwMTAtODRmZmU5M2VkZjU2XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMzk0MjQ0NQ@@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,678,1000_AL_

20. Actress Li Bingbing and Ruby Rose both appeared in the films from the Resident Evil Franchise. Li appeared in Resident Evil: Retribution (2012) and Rose appeared in Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2016).

21. This film does pay homes to multiple versions of other films in various scenes and shots. The most notable is Jaws 1975, but other film references include Jaws 3 which came out in 1983 and The Abyss which came out in 1989 this is a great film. However the scenes are too numerous to mention all of them.

22. Now let us get into some more spoilers now according to the book, Jonas does kill the Meg by driving down its throat and landing inside the belly, then ripping out the heart from within. In the movie, Jonas slices the Meg across the belly and lets hundreds of sharks devour it.

23. In the book, Jonas is trying to fix a broken Unis system and in the film itself; however, he is trying to save a submersible that is carrying his ex-wife.

24. At the end of the film when the shark is killed the same sound effect is heard that was used in the original film Jaws which came out in 1975 when the shark was killed and also in the movie Duel (both directed by Steven Spielberg) when the truck goes over the cliff.

25. Now according to the book the Meg does give birth to 3 pups 2 of which do die and the lone survivor who is now called Angel would be the poster child for the next “Meg” book. In the film however the shark never gets pregnant nor does it offer any offspring at least not around knowledge. .

Advertisements

Ghostbusters 2016 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address- bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

Will bustin’ make you feel good all over again?

This is a modern adaption although 1984 classic “Ghostbusters”. This particular version stars Melissa McCarthy as Abby Yates, Kristen Wiigs as Erin Gilbert, Kate McKinnon as Jillian Holtzman, and Leslie Jones as Patty Tolan and finally Chris Hemsworth as Kevin. This film was directed by Paul Feig and the writers are based on the 1984 film “Ghostbusters” is written by Harold Ramis, Dan Aykroyd, Ivan Reitman of the writers are Paul Feig, Katie Dippold. This particular film is classified as an action, comedy, horror, science fiction film. It is rated PG-13 for supernatural action and some crude humor. The film itself is approximately 116 minutes long.

The Film in Review

It seems a major high and probably the biggest gripe about this film that it is totally lady-fied “Ghostbusters” like reboot which in fact probably ruined most childhood memories. This is another prime example of what Hollywood has done from other past films to try and totally in rich it’s present and original concepts for new reboots.

Yes it seems that there are all a lot of people out there that are totally disturbed by this remake, and probably a little-known fact that no one is actually stealing these movies to burn them on DVDs as copies as compared to the original 1984 film. We all know this not to be true. There is obviously a lot of misplaced misogynistic hostility that has been slowly destroying the reputation of the director Paul Feig’s gender reassignment redo.

Let’s get to the film at hand I actually did finally get to see it and like most people before actually seeing it and trashing the film to the points that I would literally hesitate watching it. However I persevere on and watched it and found it not to be as bad as people think. It was a modern adaption although 1984 version with obvious better special-effects and the ghosts and that includes Slimer always a brand-new ghosts including the Stay Puff Marshmallow Man, Rowan the Destructor which is very similar to the Stay Puff Marshmallow Man and the Dragon like ghost they call Mayheim as mentioned there are some pretty cool looking ghosts in this film.

It does have its positive points the music in my opinion is a little too modern and sometimes that’s not good. Is nowhere near like the classic 1984 soundtrack. But the film itself was given a refreshing different point of view on the whole ghost attack on New York City very cool.

The CGI in this film looks spectacular and then not so much a prime example of not so much would be Slimer he looked a little too plastic for me. I do like this character and in this film he manages to have a family and manages to steal the Ecto-1a car. And drive all over the city and every so often he would get to catch a glimpse of it.

The storyline in my opinion is okay it’s different however not as refreshing or original as a 1984 version. All and all this film is actually worth watching once maybe twice. If you are into supernatural/horror/action films this one is not too bad to watch. These are my thoughts I did like the film were the majority of people who where she so all it as usual have their opinions and didn’t like the film for their own personal reasons. I didn’t mind it I thought it was different. It’s one of those films that in a long time has garnered a lot of negativity and lost a lot of money in the process, but turns out to be one of the movies that I like to watch.

Godzilla: City on the Edge of Battle 2018 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address-bbuckley@triad.rr.com

Godzilla_City_on_the_Edge_of_Battle_-_Cast_reveal_Twitter_background_-_Alternate

Well it seems that the 2n animated Godzilla film all the trilogy is now been released on Netflix and I just got done watching it and I want to give you my thoughts on this film. As we all know this is the sequel to “Godzilla: Planet of the Monsters” as this film is about the alliance of humans and the Bilusaludo trying to defeat Godzilla on a future Earth which hadn’t been inhabited (at least by humans) for about 20,000 years.

Now I will warn you if you have not seen this film yet I will not stop on the spoilers here in this movie review, but if you have then you know what’s going to happen. But some friendly advice if you don’t want to be spoiled do not read this as it will spoil you.

Now as we all know in the last film towards the end we were under the assumption that Godzilla was destroyed, but wouldn’t you know it, that wasn’t a real positive ending for the humans. Simply because what exploded out of the mountain was an even bigger Godzilla the biggest Godzilla to date often is bigger. This Godzilla is the original Godzilla that 1st showed up in the 20th century and it does stand over 315 m tall.

My Review

godzillaanime2656

The setting begins with Harou is being rescued by what seems to be an indigenous human being and this film does continue from where Godzilla: Planet of the Monsters ends at. As we all know continue to now try to battle Godzilla as a slave to come up with a plan and the story continues on. I will tell you this it does get a little boring as this movie does not have much action until almost towards the end. This is where a lot of people would complain and stand her and say it wasn’t a good movie. It seems that people thrive on action instead of actually appreciating the storyline for what it is.

The interesting thing about this film is the indigenous people a lot of people assumed towards the end of the 1st film they were under the assumption that the girl rescued Harou was a Mothra priestess. However they are interesting as they are not completely human in this film they are a blend of Mechagodzilla. This is where it gets strange but interesting.

The indigenous people have very cool looking markings very similar to the indigenous tribes that you see on the island that held King Kong in the movie Kong: Skull Island. They have very cool markings in this film as well. Now here is where it gets a little strange and to me this was a positive and a negative as treated Mechagodzilla that we technically never actually see in this film. What has transpired from the original Mechagodzilla that was created years ago when Godzilla 1st showed up and had evolved.

Godzilla-City-on-the-Edge-of-Battle-trailer-screenshot-600x351

It did evolve into something completely different than you would expect. It had changed in the course of 20,000 years into a city and it was called Mechagodzilla city and what transpires after that is the soldiers and humans create smaller robots known as “The Vultures” as they are winged machines that fly very fast and have very exceptional weapons that make Godzilla Earth a little disturbed. This is because they are made of the nano metal that created the original Mechagodzilla. As you see where I’m saying it’s getting kind of strange but interesting at same time. This was kind of cool, but I was hoping to see a full-blown version of a mechanized version of Godzilla Earth however that is not the case.

As time progresses there is a full-blown out war between these machines and Godzilla Earth and again the humans somehow managed to destroy Godzilla Earth social plate just like Godzilla Fillius that they were going to kill in that way and it did not work out the way they plan.

hqdefault

They do manage to take him down however he has his new weapon where he almost turns into a burning Godzilla. The heat from his body increases to over 1000° pretty close to what happened to the burning Godzilla before he melted down. They were wondering why he didn’t explode and it is because this is a different Godzilla altogether. And yes he does manage to survive and the story will continue with the next movie that again here is a spoiler it will feature King Ghidorah.

This is my all-time favorite enemy of Godzilla, so yes I guarantee you I am looking forward to this and how they treat him and how he will look I am very curious. Anyway to make a long story short the story was a little long and boring in my opinion but not that bad as it does pick up towards the end. It just continues from the 1st one which I found refreshing and different however this continues the film so that’s where kind of makes it a little boring, but it does pick up towards the end.

godzilla-city-on-the-edge-of-battle

Now let’s talk a little bit about the animation of the film I will tell you this I love the visuals. Yes Godzilla himself and some of the related creatures that are clones or they spawn from Godzilla Earth are very cool to say the least. There were some tentacle -like creatures that a lot of people would assume good event Biollante as those tentacles were very similar to Biollante’s. That is another spoiler for you.

Watch past the credits of Godzilla: City on the Edge of Battle, and pay attention to conversations with the non-human races: it wouldn’t surprise me if the next threat turns out to be planet sized.

Godzilla Planet of the Monsters 2017 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley
Email Address- bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

  • Directed by Kōbun Shizuno, and Hiroyuki Seshita
  • Produced by Takashi Yoshizawa
  • Screenplay by Gen Urobuchi
  • Starring
  • Mamoru Miyano
  • Takahiro Sakurai
  • Kana Hanazawa
  • Yūki Kaji
  • Music by Takayuki Hattori
  • Production Company – Polygon Pictures and Toho Animation
  • Distributed by Toho (Japan) and Netflix (Worldwide)
  • Release date November 17, 2017 (Japan)
  • Running time 88 minutes
  • Country-Japan
  • Language Japanese and English subtitle, English Dub
  • Box office US$3.1 million

As we all know Godzilla Planet of the Monsters was 1st shown in Japan on November 17, 2017 and finally were shown on Netflix worldwide on January 17, 2018. As we all know this is a three-part animated Godzilla movie trilogy and so far we have a total of 2 of them as of right now. As I am writing this movie review on July 19, 2018 a day after Godzilla: City on the Edge of Battle which is the 2nd of the trilogy movies to be released on Netflix I am doing this movie review. I did do a movie review on my YouTube channel a while back.

As we all know when they did produce that film Shin Godzilla which came out in 2016 it was advanced in a lot of ways as it did take over the number 1 spot as being the most profitable film for the Toho Motion Picture Company. It took away from King Kong versus Godzilla 1962 which held that honor up until this movie. I guess you can say this was a leap forward in a lot of ways. This movie did in fact when a lot of awards over there in Japan and now we have another movie that is definitely much more a step forward as it is totally animated for the very 1st time for the Toho Motion Picture Company.

gsk5mg7shz7ccd7ckhd9

This film was in fact animated by the company known as Polygon Pictures is based on a cell-shading animation house that previously worked on video games like Onimusha 2, Dead or Alive Extreme 2, Resident Evil 5, and yes Street fighter 5. The screenplay was handled by Gen Urobuchi who is best known for such anime’s as Puella Magi Madoka Magica and Psycho-Pass, but with Nitroplus he worked on the scenario for visual novel games like Kikokugai and Saya no Uta.

Now is give you my thoughts on what I think about this movie! There has been many different variations of Godzilla films that have come out and this includes a man in a suit, total CGI movie type and yes animated versions of Godzilla and this one is no exception to that rule.

As we all know if you have seen this film it does depict a world that is invaded by a lot of kaiju that are literally destroying everything in their wake. The one thing I like to point out is the fact that they handled the other kaiju in this film as bleak images as we did not actually see them moving around like Godzilla. Which in my opinion was a little disappointing, but was not the end of the world. After decades of this kind of destruction it would be in 2048 that an intergalactic vessel called the Atratrum would begin an actual 20 year journey with its human passengers looking for a new planet to settle on. This one here however has been totally annihilated by all the kaiju and Godzilla has taken over. This is the reason why they are in search of a different planet to settle on.

mg6pzvoweijprdzwbhru

They would eventually traveled for 20 years to a distant constellation only to discover that the planet that they thought they could actually settle on is absolutely uninhabitable so they make their return back home. However doing so for them it was 20 years but coming back it was literally 20,000 years and as we all know the planet’s environment has definitely changed the one thing hasn’t changed is the fact that Godzilla is still a lethal menace and still exists.

I will tell you this when you 1st see this and the storyline it is definitely set up very well. Life inside the ship that they were traveling on is very vivid in display they did a fantastic job on the animation of the ship. Though the environment within this you have upon traveling has its disappointments such as the lack of water and the clothing as well as the suits are soiled, scuffed or even scratched. This is what happens after 20 years of using the same products it gets pretty gritty and grim at the same time.

efwtmr9bm5k7jiwc04mw

Upon arriving to the planet they find that Godzilla does exist however this is not Godzilla that I think it is it is a clone of Godzilla earth. As they soon discover toward the end of this film that there is indeed another Godzilla. As they thought they killed the 1st Godzilla and they could re-inhabit the planet however on the other one would emerge and he would be over 300 m tall. This would be the original that chase them away 20,000 years ago or in their case 20 years ago. Anyway that is the premise of the film they pretty much leave and come back and they fight this Godzilla is known as Godzilla Fillius and they managed to destroy it only to discover that there is a much larger and much more powerful Godzilla the original Godzilla that they call Godzilla earth.

Now let me give you my thoughts on what I liked him what I did not like about the film. The characters at times in my opinion seem a little over-the-top with their acting, but I soon get past that as the movie does progress. The whole entire animated version and how Godzilla Fillius looked in my opinion was a little for me to adjust to, but I got used to a real fast as he does have some pretty impressive weapons and he does look amazing at times. There are a lot of people that did not care for this movie but that is to be expected in any movie that comes out on the market you’re always going to have people that don’t like it and then you’re always have people that do like it. I am one of those people that actually thoroughly enjoyed this film. The animation at times was absolutely the most spectacular thing I’ve seen in a long time. Then there are times as you are watching this film it seems a little dull but that is how they do cell shading type animation.

nvd7ex8glv95lsg8lcjx

I will tell you this Godzilla Fillius does have some impressive weapons and another thing I like to point out that I did like was the fact that you have these soldiers that are flying around on these flying bikes and shooting a Godzilla Fillius this in my opinion would look absolutely amazing in a real live action film, but that’s just my thoughts on that.

Harou is the main protagonist and all through the film he seems a little overboard with his anger. However, that would soon change as he would take control of the situation and he has great leadership skills. All the things that I did like and found that they were okay but not overly great were the Servum which kind of look cool in a way, and at the same time they serve their purpose in the film as they too were a spawn off of Godzilla earth. The entire environment was catered around Godzilla earth. This is why he is called Godzilla earth as the entire planet is about Godzilla earth.

As I was saying earlier once they did destroy Godzilla Fillius and we get into the actual homestretch the pace does in fact becomes relentless and continuous. Nothing but action once they start attacking Godzilla Fillius and from that point on to the end it was action-packed. Another thing about this movie that I did like was the fact that the actual storyline was refreshing and different as compared to any other Godzilla film I did thoroughly enjoy the storyline. And the action sequences they pick up as we did not normally have to wait for any real action to occur.

ikgc7uqzktvxwvhtbeiz

Now let’s talk about Godzilla Earth he is surprisingly effective and frightening at times. The musical score is also very comforting and it does fit well within the theme of this movie as well as the kaiju Godzilla Earth. As I’ve mentioned from time to time the animation throughout is overly exceeding in my opinion and one more thing I like to point out is the fact that it is very cool military hardware as I mentioned earlier and they were well executed.

There are some movie reviews that seem to say that there is not enough closure to actually feel satisfied when account for this film, and there is a reason for that is because it is the 1st of 3 movies and if you watch all these movies back to back it should feel complete. That’s just my opinion on that. Anyway closing this off I don’t really have too many complaints other than maybe some of the characters were a little dull at times, but the action sequence with the Servum, Godzilla Fillius and Godzilla Earth where absolutely spot on in my opinion.

xyczz7hsni663sz3vrol

Now will tell you this I am a big fan of the man in the suit and I don’t really mind CGI, but at times there are a lot of fans out there that seem to think that we should move on from the whole entire man in the suit to CGI and I’ll totally agree with that. I am old school I grew up watching all these very cool kaiju and sci-fi movies that had very little CGI and were created with practical effects these in my opinion are what make these movies really great. CGI in my opinion comes at a very expensive price however there are some benefits if it is done right can look very realistic like they did in Godzilla 2014. Shin Godzilla as well they did a fantastic job with the CGI though not as compared to Godzilla 2014, but that’s because Japan is not on top of the CGI game as compared to the United States of America and I am not saying that to criticize them is just simply the way it is. Anyway to end this I thoroughly enjoyed this!

Pacific Rim Uprising: A Film in Retrospective

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

pacific-rim-uprising-header-3

“This review is full spoilers as I will not hold back if you do not want to be spoiled my suggestion is not to read this review”

Before we get into the actual review I would like to say that because of all the downloading from torrents of these 3 movies and people burn them to DVD American profits off of them it has changed things in theaters. We are now forced to watch commercials in the theaters. Now in my opinion commercials are absolutely pointless and don’t get me wrong I do understand the purpose they do advertise certain products that people don’t necessarily need or they do need. Anyway were forced to watch commercials in the theaters. This is going on for quite some time now.

The next thing we do is we end up watching in this particular theater trailers from movies that we expect to have a similarity to Pacific Rim Uprising. However that is not the case only because there are really any movies that are based on anything Kaiju related or robot related coming out. We end up watching trailers and I’m saying to myself Hollywood is really failing in making good movies in my opinion. They just don’t trust me anymore. Every once in a while though, across something that my peak my interest such as a trailer to Jurassic world. Honestly I think I just going to be another dinosaur movie with nothing is really going to stand out other than the CGI.

pacific_rim_uprising_ver9_xlg-616x872

One more thing before we get into the actual movie review is I did notice that the screen was a little dark and I’m like saying to myself I hope this movie isn’t dark and I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t.

The next day I like to ask each and every one of you before you read this is to understand that this review is loaded with spoilers and I am not going to hold back. So if you have not seen this movie yet and don’t want to be spoiled my suggestion is to stop reading this and wait until you see the movie and then come back to me your thoughts in the comments below.

Let’s begin by talking about a little information based on the film itself.

  • It is directed by Steven S. Deknight
  • It is produced by get this John Boyega who is also Jake Pentecost who is the son of Kaiju war hero Stacker Pentecost. He is a producer for this film.
  • Cale Boyter
  • Guillermo Del Toro
  • Jon Jashni
  • Femi Oguns
  • Mary Parent
  • Thomas Tull
  • The Production Company Is Legendary Pictures
  • The Film Is Distributed by Universal Pictures
  • The Release Date for the Film (Vue West End) March 15, 2018
  • The Release Date for This Film in the United States is March 23, 2018.
  • The running time for this film is 111 minutes.
  • The Country Is the United States of America.
  • The language for this film is English.
  • The budget for this film is $150 million
  • So Far at the Box Office It Has Accumulated a Total of $61.5 Million

Cast

  • John Boyega as Jake Pentecost
  • Scott Eastwood as Nate Lambert
  • Cailee Spaeny as Amara Namani
  • Madeleine McGraw as Young Amara Namani
  • Rinko Kikuchi as Mako Mori
  • Charlie Day as the Precursor Emissary, formerly Dr. Newton “Newt” Geiszler
  • Burn Gorman as Dr. Hermann Gottlieb
  • Jing Tian as Liwen Shao
  • Adria Arjona as Jules Reyes
  • Zhang Jin as Marshal Quan
  • Karan Brar as Suresh
  • Ivanna Sakhno as Vik
  • Mackenyu as Ryoichi
  • Shyrley Rodriguez as Renata
  • Levi Meaden as Ilya
  • Rahart Adams as Tahima Shaheen
  • Zhu Zhu as Juen
  • Nick E. Tarabay as Sonny

Movie Review in Stages

pacific-rim-uprising

The movie does start out with Jake Pentecost after the battle of the breach 10 years after the fact he is seen stealing and selling Jaeger parts to the black market.

In this particular scene we do see a massive amount of Jaeger parts very cool to see this as you see gigantic heads of some familiar Jaeger’s are you not know. In one gigantic robot arm and he is also seeing running through the junkyard and somehow manages to escape his adversaries.

There Jake Pentecost runs into Amara Namani seen stealing a certain part to get her version of a Jaeger up and running. She manages to do this and escapes the warehouse only to be confronted by a gigantic Jaeger known as November Ajax. This is a gigantic blue Jaeger very similar to that of Gypsy Avenger. This is a very cool scene as you see her running away from this gigantic Jaeger only eventually to be captured by him electrocuting her and then he proceeds to move down and tap on the dysfunction Scrapper and eventually she comes out of the Jaeger.

The movie progresses with them finally getting back into the Jaeger program and we see some new cadets are trying to get familiar with each other this is a typical scene. Though we do run into Scott Eastwood’s character who does look a lot like his father Clint Eastwood and as far as I’m concerned he does a really good job in this film.

As the movie progresses we see that Jake Pentecost is eventually slowly coming around and he is confronted by a hologram of Mako and she pretty much says that he needs to get it together and get back in the Jaeger program. Eventually she does show up in real life with a group of scientists create a new version of Jaeger’s however we do not see them and eventually they send out Gypsy Avenger where he is confronted by a rogue Jaeger that is piloted by a one-man team somewhere on the planet we do not know where.

02699ace-d014-45e6-966e-f1a317a93d89

However it does go wrong as we find out something pretty interesting which I will explain to you later. Anyway seeing Obsidian Fury this is the road Jaeger that we see emerge out of the water and literally embarrass Gypsy Avenger as it seems obsidian fury is the better fighter. This is a great scene as well. Within the flight between these 2 Jaeger’s we see that Mako is trying to authorize the drones at a PPDC Council meeting in Sydney however in the process she does get killed by the road Jaeger Obsidian Fury before she actually report.

In this particular scene Jake Pentecost is frustrated at the death of his sister bad things suddenly turn around after that.

Suddenly in the sky they see other Jaeger is being transported to the scene and Obsidian Fury and he suddenly disappears into the water.

Now the Jaeger’s have noticed a pattern within Mako’s message and they head towards this particular area only to be confronted by the road Jaeger once again Obsidian Fury were another fight ensues and it is a great battle however Gypsy avenger manages to get the better of him and destroys the road Jaeger.

This is an interesting seeing as we see Gypsy suddenly grab the road Jaeger’s face helmet and rip it off only to discover that there is a Kaiju brain that was controlling this rogue Jaeger. The also pattern begins.

apibmbpyj__75066.1507232692

When the drones reach their respective locations, they are taken over by cloned Kaiju brains and simultaneously attack Shatterdomes worldwide, inflicting heavy casualties on the PPDC forces and incapacitating almost all Jaegers. Hermann Gottlieb seeks out Geiszler for help, unaware that Geiszler is the mastermind behind the attack, as he has been corrupted by regularly drifting with Kaiju brains. Seeking to destroy the world for the Precursors, the alien race who created the Kaiju, Geiszler has installed a backdoor in the drone program so that the Kaiju brains could take over the drones, destroy the PPDC and open new breaches all over the world.

Now in his next particular scene we do see that the company executive Shao does manage to destroy all of the drones that have Kaiju brains within them however by doing this it does manage to let 3 categories for and 5 Kaiju out of that breach.

In this particular scene we do see the Jaeger’s take on these other 3 Kaiju and they have a very heavy fight on their hands and I will tell you it is a great fight scene in the Jaeger’s of actually get the better of them for the most part.

However we finally realize that there is something that most people do not expect as a suddenly realize that Geiszler is the precursors in the main goal is to activate the Ring of fire by having the Kaiju fall directly into Mount Fuji. This is where the blood will react with the volcano’s rare earth elements and activate all the volcanoes within the Ring of fire. Wiping out all of life on planet Earth and the terraforming of the planet for their colonization would begin.

There are only a total of 4 remaining Jaeger’s left and before they could do this they suddenly see the other 3 Kaiju form into the Mega-Kaiju which is the amalgamation of Raijin, Hakuja and Shrikethorn.

I will tell you this this is one big freaking Kaiju and what category it belongs in is unknown at this time. However it is powerful and the Jaeger’s are no match for this. The other 2 Jaeger’s are destroy suddenly we do see Amara suddenly run for Gypsy Avenger as we now see Scott Eastwood’s character is heavily damaged in the fight and she takes his place within Gypsy Avenger.

In this last particular scene we do see Scrapper has finally made it back into the fight and somehow managed to grab one of the turbos and somehow welded to Gypsy Avenger’s hand because this Jaeger is heavily damaged and it needed to transport into the sky where it would literally fall from the air onto this gigantic Mega-Kaiju. This was in order to stop it from falling into Mount Fuji.

They do this eventually destroying Gypsy Avenger and the Kaiju finally dies and they succeed in stopping the Kaiju from falling into Mount Fuji.

In the last part or the proscribed scenes all this movie we do see the captive Precursor/Geiszler does threaten Jake in the human existence that they will not stop from taking over the planet. However we do see Jake does make mention that that is not going to happen as he says that they are in some sort of why going to confront the precursors in their world. It is my understanding if there is a 3rd movie they will go into the breach and the fight will occur in the breach possibly destroying all the Kaiju within the breach. Also this would be interesting in my opinion as their company ungodly amount of different category Kaiju should prove interesting if they do it right.

My Final Thoughts on this Film

maxresdefault

Now that what I thought about the film I thought it was really good, but not in the way to compare it to Pacific Rim the original. These 2 movies are different in a lot of ways. This movie is action-packed so you won’t be disappointed in that way however the CGI in my opinion if we are going compare it to Pacific Rim is a lot different. The way to handle the movies or all of different. The 1st movie I do understand it is more or less setting up what the Jaeger’s and the Kaiju’s are all about so they put a lot of effort into that aspect.

The suits that they wear in the 1st movie are so much better than the suits that they wear in this one. The way to handle the Jaeger’s the movements and how the robots look are so much better than the 2nd movie. There are a lot of things in my opinion Pacific Rim is better than Pacific Rim Uprising. However we will not get into it too much. The Jaeger’s they are Mach 6 Jaeger’s so they are much more improved than the originals and you can see it as they do move quite well and their martial arts skills are spot on.

Gypsy Avenger even though he is a Mach 6 does not come off as being a bad ass compared to Gypsy Danger. In my opinion Gypsy Danger does handle the Kaiju a lot more ferociously even though he does it for part in the movie. Gypsy Avenger is one of those Jaeger’s that is controlled by Jake and Scott Eastwood’s character and eventually this character gets hurt and he is replaced by Amara.

pacificrimheader

The Kaiju in this film I will tell you they are a lot better in design in my opinion than the originals. The originals are constantly a blue color with a hint of brown. The design of these Kaiju in the 2nd movie is absolutely amazing they do send out more so than the Jaeger’s. The cool thing about these Kaiju is you see these tiny little critters running through the streets and they make their way to the 3 Kaiju and force them together to form a gigantic mega-Kaiju. I thought this was absolutely cool.

This may Kaiju does not have a name not as of yet and he makes his way up to Mount Fuji to sacrifice itself, but Gypsy Avenger sacrifice himself and eventually kills the mega-Kaiju. All in all this movie is not that bad but if you are compared to the 1st one it does fall short in a lot of aspects. I enjoyed it. There is also a rumor that if they do create a 3rd movie here is my scenario all what I think it would be like if you pay attention to the very last part of this film. In the post credit scene Geiszler was taken over by The Precursor is the one controlling the Kaiju in this film anyway he is captured and tied to a chair threatens Jake that they will not stop until they take over the planet. Jake responds with just one we’re coming to you.

This is my scenario when he said that is most likely they will create a certain kind Jaeger were Jaeger’s that will be able to answer the breach possibly a hybrid type Jaeger that would be cool. So that the signature Kaiju can answer the breach outside of that they cannot answer the breach. If you remember in the 1st film in order for them to drop Gypsy Danger into the breach he needed to take a Kaiju with him, so it is my understanding that they could possibly create a hybrid Kaiju Jaeger wore several of them and they answer the breach and they do battle within the realm.

There is no telling what’s in their realm as I do like to create and clone Kaiju and there is no telling what category of Kaiju they will create or have down there it should prove to be a good fight if they do it right. Anyway I’m going to end in here and so that you can further understand my review I did create a video that is based on Pacific Rim Uprising: A Film in Retrospective this is a video that concentrates on all aspects and understanding all the film. Not just a movie review but it is quite interesting to learn things about the film itself. Anyway here is the video should you decide you want to check it out…

Gamera: The Invincible Terrapin 1965 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

In-depth movie review on the first movie!

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h28m02s012

A brief description of what Gamera is?

Gamera is a gigantic flying Terrapin then seen in the giant sci-fi movie known as Gamera the Invincible which came out in 1965.

Is a film that is directed by Noriaki Yuasa who directed most of the Showa Series of Gamera films.

This is the first entry to the Gamera films within the Showa Series and it was theatrically released in the United States.

The Cast for This Film Are

  • Eiji Funakoshi as Dr Hidaka
  • Harumi Kiritachi as Kyoko
  • Junichiro Yamashita as Aoyagi
  • Yoshiro Uchida as Toshio
  • Michiko Sugata as Nobuyo
  • Yoshiro Kitahara as Sakurai
  • Jun Hamamura as Dr. Murase
  • George Hirose as the Japanese ambassador

The Following Cast Were Added in the 1966 American Theatrical Release of the Film:

  • Albert Dekker as the Secretary of Defense
  • Brian Donlevy as Gen. Terry Arnold
  • Diane Findlay as Sgt. Susan Embers
  • John Baragrey as Captain Lovell
  • Dick O’Neill as Gen. O’Neill

Plot

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h25m29s029

In an icy North American region, an unknown aircraft is shot down by an American fighter jet. The aircraft crashes and its cargo, a low-level atomic bomb, explodes. The resulting cataclysm awakens a giant, prehistoric monster called Gamera, who has the appearance of a giant turtle with teeth and large tusks. Japanese scientists on an expedition (including Dr. Hidaka, Kyoko, and Aoyagi) nearby are given a “devil stone” by an Eskimo chieftain, who explains that the creature is called Gamera.

Gamera destroys the American jet with his fire breath and escapes into the sea. The monster heads to Japan and surfaces from Sagami Bay, where Toshio, a boy releasing his own pet turtle, sees him. Gamera destroys the city of Fujisawa and a lighthouse. However, he also rescues Toshio from falling from that same lighthouse and then retreats back into the sea. Scientists and government officials hold a conference to discuss killing the monster.

Gamera destroys a research ship, kills the crew and then heads to Tokyo. He is attacked with freeze bombs and blown up, falling onto his back as a result. The scientists indicate that a turtle cannot right itself once on its back and that Gamera will therefore die of starvation. Gamera then pulls his head, limbs and tail into his shell, emits flames out of his arm and leg cavities and flies away by rising up into and spinning around through the air like a flying saucer.

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h35m02s368

Toshio and his family decide to stay with an uncle in Tokyo because they have nowhere else to go. Toshio explains to the professor that Gamera is lonely and like regular turtles, he is not evil. Dr. Hidaka, meanwhile, has observed that Gamera consumes fossil fuels, and may seek out atomic bombs for the energy they provide. He also emits radio signals. This leads the Japan Atomic Energy Commission to figure out what to do with its stockpiles. Meanwhile, disasters and accidents start to occur: Koto Ward is struck by flash floods and ships collide in Tokyo Bay. Dr. Hidaka claims that Gamera has caused these accidents because he is hiding in the bay.

An international scientific conference is called, and they decide to use “Z Plan” based at Oshima Island, involving a consortium of American, Soviet and Japanese scientists, to eradicate Gamera. Before any action can be taken, however, Gamera lands at Haneda Airport, destroying the control tower, and proceeds to wreak havoc in Tokyo (including destroying the Tokyo Tower). Toshio and his family evacuate again, but Toshio disappears.

Z Plan is still not ready and the scientists plan to keep Gamera at bay in the meantime by confining him to an oil refinery. Dr. Hidaka has surmised that Gamera is gaining energy by consuming fires at the refinery and they will therefore keep shipping petroleum there by train car to keep Gamera occupied for 24 hours. Toshio has found his way to the refinery and sneaks on board the train to Gamera, chased by the refinery headman, and they are both thrown from the train when it explodes. They are unharmed and Toshio is sent on his way.

In the meantime, Z Plan is completed and Toshio sneaks on board the ship delivering supplies to Oshima. Gamera is lured to Oshima by lighting an oil slick path from Tokyo to the island, but an oncoming typhoon blows the fire out. Aoyagi starts a bonfire and Gamera makes his way to a volcano erupting on the island. The next day, Z Plan is put into action: Gamera is lured to a rocket and blasted off to Mars. The worldwide announcement of success extols the triumph of science over ideology, Aoyagi and Kyoko go off together and Toshio decides he is not sad, because he is going to be a scientist so he can go visit Gamera one day.

Let’s Talk about Some Interesting Facts about the Production of This Film

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h39m02s071

The director Noriaki Yuasa did in fact initially began production of a film that was simply titled as Dai Gunju Nezura and this is literally translated as “The Great Rat Swarm” which in fact would literally involve real live rats crawling around over a major set of cities.

The rats that were received for this film came with some baggage such as a whole mess of fleas and it literally halted the production of the film.

With the success all the Toho Motion Picture Company’s Godzilla film that came out in 1954 called “Godzilla: King of the Monsters” would eventually have Noriaki Yuasa of the decision to go ahead and create a film very similar to that one.

The company that would make the original film Gamera The Invincible was known as the Daiei production company and they would go ahead and create a monster series of their own.

This company would make a series of films from 1965 all to 1980 before actually going bankrupt.

They would use the miniature city sets used in the film “The Great Rat Swarm” that was already scrapped due to the infestation and Masaichi Nagata came up with the idea to develop a giant monster that would attack the city and he also had the idea that it would be a gigantic flying turtle. Noriaki Yuasa and the screenwriter Nisan Takahashi developed the ideal that would eventually become the 1965 film that they would tentatively call Gamera the giant monster.

Special effects technician Ryosaku Takayama would design the turtle suit that was used in the film.

As I’ve mentioned before this film is created by Daiei production company and they would aim these films were targeted towards a younger audience of children rather than the dark and eerie tones of the first two Godzilla films. And they also had a lower budget for these films.

This particular film would be the only film within the series that was shot in black and white.

Noriaki Yuasa also stated that this is the very first film which had a budget of about ¥40 million and he also mentioned that the film went “overbudget just a little bit”.

Due to the commercial success all the first Gamera film the second Gamera film which is tentatively call “Gamera versus Barugon” which came out in 1966 had an expanded budget and that budget would be ¥80 million. That my friends is double the original film.

Gamera Suit Design

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h43m40s344

Shodaigame Gamera Suit

Shodaigame Gamera Suit is a technical name for the Showa Series of Gamera’s and the suits used in this series.

First let me explain the word Shodai in means first-generation and the word game segment comes from the word Gamera.

The Shodaigame suit design is based on the appearance of a gigantic terminal that has fingers would very long claws on each hand as well as five toes with very sharp claws as well. Plus it has a very long tail. The underside of the shell for carapace as a brick -like pattern. While the top of the carapace has several spikes protruding from the shelf itself.

The Gamera suits face was made to look very menacing with small angry -looking eyes. The most famous aspect about this suit and all other Gamera suits are gigantic tusks that protrude from the lower jaw. This suit also has a very pointed snout. The ridge on the top of is also much more pronounced than in the later design of Gamera suits.

During the flying scenes as we all know Gamera is capable of flight. They use a miniature puppet that is roughly around 3 feet in length it was constructed just for the flying scenes. They would actually suspend this puppet using piano wire and it was filled with a mechanism that was capable of spewing flames from his arms and leg holes.

Let’s Talk about the Films Release

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h39m20s617

The film was released in Japan on November 27, 1965.

The film itself was a bigger head than the studio expected which I mentioned before led to a higher budget for the second film known as Gamera versus Barugon which came out in 1966.

There was in fact an edited version of the film that was released yesterday in the United States on December 15, 1966. It was called ” Gammera The Invincible” which in fact it was or it had a typo as Gamera is spelled G-a-M-E-R-a and according to the title that is released in the United States it is spelled as G-A-M-M-E-R-A The Invincible.

This version that was released in the United States did in fact include some scenes that were added such as the Alaskan army base, the Pentagon, and the United Nations headquarters.

This particular version was also shown frequently on American television in the 1970s.

Now We Will Talk about Home Media

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h43m51s197

Gamera the invincible was released on home video as “Gamera” in 1987 by Sandy Frank Film Syndication.

This Release Also Contains the Japanese Version of the Film without the Added Foliage from the 1966 United States Theatrical Release with all the added footage.

This version was in fact entirely re-dubbed in English with a different musical score.

However the 1966 theatrical version does feature Brian Donlevy also had been made available on home video as well.

Vintage Home Entertainment released Gamera: The Ultimate Collection on May 17, 2005 which included a compilation of the entire film series. The film was last released by Willette Acquisition Corp. on Feb 17, 2015.

Let’s Talk about the Reception of This Film

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h44m20s949

According to Variety which is a magazine that does state that Plan Z in the film was an “all appropriate idea for Gamera, a film which can also be rated as Grade Z”.

From many retrospective reviews such as AllMovie it did in fact give the film a positive review complimenting the films direction, special effects, and cinematography stating, “all in all Gamera the Invincible is a solidly-crafted, engaging monster mash-just make sure you see the original Japanese version”.

This film according to Rotten Tomatoes is right at 20% according to the website. However you need to keep in mind it really does come down to how you feel about the movie not these credits.

Now is give you some basic facts and trivia based on this film

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h44m28s226

There is in fact a sequence where you do say Gamera attacking two strippers in a nightclub and it was shot however it was deleted from the film.

As I have mentioned before this is the only film within the Gamera series that is filled in black and white.

This is also the only film within the series that Gamera does not fight another monster.

This is the only film within the series that Gamera is in fact the antagonist instead of the protagonist.

There is a tribute/spoof about Gamera that was using the episode of the grim adventures of Billy and Mandy, it is when you do see Billy and Irwin go to Japan to see monster’s fight. The monster’s name is Kragera in this episode.

The world entertainment/Harris Associates cut version of the film entitled “Gammera, The Invincible”, does contain one shot of Gamera in the original Japanese version wore the Sandy Frank dub version. It is a wide shot of Gamera attacking the nuclear reactor.

Conclusion

vlcsnap-2017-11-10-03h45m26s627

I have seen this film in many different versions of this film and I do like them all equally as it is the beginning of the series just like Godzilla 1954 is perhaps the best within the Showa Series of Gamera films as they do tend to get a little cheesy towards the 1980s. Until we reach the Heisei Series of Gamera films those in my opinion are some of the best Gamera films to date. Anyway this film is a classic and has many fantastic elements especially the way they film it. All in all this is a great film if you are new to the Kaiju genre you might want to check this out if you want a greater understanding of the gigantic flying Terrapin.

Anyway that is it I hope you enjoy this. I asked that you like this video and tell all your friends and families if they are Kaiju fans to go ahead and check out my channel and don’t forget to subscribe if you want to see more videos like this again thank you.

The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002[5]

Cast

  • Paul Christian as Professor Tom Nesbitt
  • Paula Raymond as Lee Hunter
  • Cecil Kellaway as Dr. Thurgood Elson
  • Kenneth Tobey as Colonel Jack Evans
  • Donald Woods as Captain Phil Jackson
  • Ross Elliott as George Ritchie
  • Steve Brodie as Sgt. Loomis
  • Jack Pennick as Jacob Bowman
  • Michael Fox as ER doctor
  • Lee Van Cleef as Corporal Jason Stone
  • Frank Ferguson as Dr. Morton
  • King Donovan as Dr. Ingersoll
  • James Best as Charlie, radar operator

Information Based on the Movie

clip_image004[5]

This is an American black-and-white science fiction monster film. It was produced by Warner Bros. The film itself is a stop motion animation special effects that are done by Ray Harryhausen. This film is based off of the original screenplay that was done by Ray Bradbury based on a short story called “The Fog Horn” specifically the scene where a lighthouse does get destroyed by a creature known as the Rhedosaurus.

A short plot synopsis based on this is a fictional dinosaur known as the Rhedosaurus is released from his frozen hibernation by the use of an atomic bomb in the Arctic Circle. This is very similar to the original Gamera movie that came out in 1965 were planes fly over and drop bombs and release the mighty Terrapin.

The Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms is the very first fell that features an atomic monster which did help inspire the Japanese movie from the Toho Motion Picture Company known as Godzilla: King of the Monsters in this movie came out in 1954 the very next year.

Plot Synopsis

The film the story out in the further regions of the north of the Arctic Circle.

Their scientists are conducting nuclear bomb testings and it was the “Operation Experiments”

it would be soon after that physicist Thomas Nesbitt mutters these famous words “what the cumulative effects of all these atomic explosions and tests will be, only time will tell.”

No sooner did he say that that they suddenly realize that the explosion did in fact awoken a gigantic dinosaur that is roughly 3 high and 100 feet long and it is in fact a carnivorous dinosaur known as the Rhedosaurus.

The Rhedosaurus was actually thawing out in the ice and had been suspended in animation for quite a long time.

It seems that Nesbitt was the only surviving member to what had happened when they release the Rhedosaurus. Nesbitt is dismissed as being crazy or delirious despite what he had seen. We all know that the Rhedosaurus did escape from the Arctic Circle and now heading towards North America.

It does managed to destroy a fishing boat off of the Grand Banks As Well as destroying yet another fishing boat off of Marquette Canada.

clip_image006[5]

He is also seeing destroying a lighthouse that is located in Maine. He would eventually makes his way towards Manhattan and this is very similar to Godzilla 1998 and that is why a lot of fans assume this would literally be a remake of this film. There are some elements that are a Godzilla 1998 that come from this film.

Nesbitt would eventually gain allies in paleontologists Thurgood Elson and his young assistant Lee Hunter after they discover there was a surviving fishermen offer one of the boats he is seen going through a collection of drawings and he picks out the Rhedosaurus and that is exactly what Nesbitt saw to.

They figure out according to some mapping where the Rhedosaurus might show up. With the skepticism of the military officers it is then that Elson proposes that the Rhedosaurus would be returning to the Hudson River area.

The reason he would say this is because there has been discovery of fossils of other Rhedosaurus as there were actually found in that area.

Prof. Elson is suddenly killed after his bell is swallowed by the Rhedosaurus. The beast would eventually come ashore in Manhattan. In a newspaper clipping it is said that the beast when it came ashore killed almost 180 people with 1500 people injured with a total estimated damage of $300 million.

The military troops would eventually show off and it is led by none other than Col. Jack Evans tries to stop the Rhedosaurus with an electrified barricade. They then tried to blast the Rhedosaurus with a bazooka and it does when directly into the throat of the Rhedosaurus and by doing this they are hoping it would drive the Rhedosaurus back into the sea.

clip_image008[5]

Unfortunately when they did this the Rhedosaurus’s blood had bled all over the streets of Manhattan and unleashed a horrible virulent prehistoric contagion which does eventually began to in fact wipe out the populace.

They go back to the drawing board and decide to create a radioactive isotope and then shoot it into the Rhedosaurus is injured and hopes that it would burn from the inside out killing all of the contagion.

The Rhedosaurus would eventually come back into Manhattan as he makes his way towards Coney Island Amusement Park and the military sharpshooter known as Cpl. Stone takes a rifle grenade loaded with the radioactive isotope and climbs aboard a roller coaster and rides the roller coaster to the top of the tracks.

This is where he can get an eye level of the Rhedosaurus and he does managed to fire the isotope directly into the Rhedosaurus’s neck which was wounded when they fire the original was and released all the contagion.

By doing this the creature let out a horrible scream and thrashed about setting the park on fire and eventually the Rhedosaurus would collapse and eventually died.

The Production of the Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms

clip_image010[5]

The film had a production cost of $200,000 which was quite expensive for 1953. $2.25 million at the North American box office door in his first year of release. However it did end up grossing more than $5 million.

The original prints of the film shows that the Rhedosaurus was actually a sepia tone color.

The original title for this film was announced in trades as “The Monster from beneath the Sea”.

During the Pre-Production it as brought to Jack Dietz and Hal E. Chester by Ray Harryhausen that Ray Bradberry had written a short story called “The Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms” that was just published by The Saturday Evening Post in 1951 (it was later changed to what is called “The Fog Horn”. There was a similar sequence that appeared in the draft of the script for “the Monster from beneath the Sea”. Ray Harryhausen brought this to their attention and the producers who wish to share Bradberry’s reputation and popularity, probably bought the rights to his story and changed the film’s title to match that of the title story. Ray Bradberry’s name was used extensively in the promotional campaign and was given credit when they read “Suggested by the Saturday Evening Post Story” by Ray Bradbury was also added to the end credits of the film.

The original musical score was composed by Michel Michelet , about one Warner Bros. purchased the film they had a new score written by David Buttolph. Ray Harryhausen was hoping that his film music hero Max Steiner would be able to write the music for the film. Max Steiner was the composer who wrote the landmark score for the original King Kong movie that came out in 1933. Max Steiner was also contracted on the Warner Bros. at that time. Unfortunately for Ray Harryhausen Max Steiner had too many commitments that would allow him to score the film. However Buutolph had created one of the most memorable and powerful scores, setting much of the tome for this giant monster film from 1953.

There were early pre-production conceptual sketches of the beast and they do show at one point it was to have a shelled head and and another given point you was supposed to have a beak as well. However because Ray Harryhausen was assigned to the special effects and the creation of the creature he had been working with Willis O’Brien who had done and created King Kong in 1933 for many years and the monster of the film looks nothing like the Brontosaurus-type creature of the short story. The creature in the film does resemble a lot like a Tyrannosaurus rex-type prehistoric predator. There was a drawing of the creature that was published along with the story in The Saturday Evening Post. There was at one point plans to have the Rhedosaurus snort flames (LOL) however this idea was dropped just before production began due to budgetary restrictions. The concept, however, was still used for the film’s poster artwork. And it also later depicted the Rhedosaurus with nuclear flame breath this one also inspire the film from Japan known as Godzilla: King of the Monsters.

clip_image012[5]

There is a scene within the film that does attempt to identify the Rhedosaurus, Prof. Tom Nesbitt rifles through dinosaur drawings by Charles R Knight a man whom Ray Harryhausen claims as an inspiration and also did some of the dinosaur work in the movie King Kong 1933.

The dinosaur skeleton in the museum sequence is artificial; it was obtained from storage at RKO pictures where it had been constructed for their classic comedy “Bringing up Baby” which came out in 1938.

The climatic roller coaster live action scenes were actually filmed on location at The Pike which is located in Long Beach California and it does feature the Cyclone Racer entrance ramp, ticket booth, loading platform, and views of the structure from the beach. There was also a split-Matte, in camera special-effects that was done by Ray Harryhausen that would effectively combine the live action of the actors and the roller coaster background footage from this particular amusement park.

Reception and Legacy of This Film

clip_image014[5]

The Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms was a live action film that was very inspirational and it also included a giant monster that was awakened and brought about by the atomic bomb detonation as we all know how the film goes is also the inspiration to the Toho Motion Picture Company’s first classic Godzilla film called Godzilla: King of the Monsters which came out the very next year in 1954. It would literally be 16 months afte Bordeaux r the release of this film. This film also inspired other films that would eventually turn into a craze and this would include such films as Them! That would come out the following year and that is based on giant ants. It also inspired to British films that was helmed by the director Eugene Lourie directed this film The Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms and he also directed another film that would come out in 1959 known as “Behemoth, the Sea Monster”. Later in the United States it would be retitled as “The Giant Behemoth” as well as another famous English sci-fi giant monster movie known as “Gorgo”.

Another film that came out in 2008 known as Cloverfield this film also involves a giant monster terrorizing the New York City area and it does insert a frame from the film The Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms along with frames from movies like King Kong and Them!. These were incorporated into the hand-held camera footage used throughout the entire film.

The Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms was nominated for AFI’S Top 10 Science Fiction Films List.

The Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms also appeared in the film Gremlins 2.

Interesting Facts and Trivia about the Beast from Twenty Thousand Fathoms

clip_image016[5]

As we all know the Rhedosaurus went through several different designs before the final concept was used in the film. As I mentioned before this particular early concept would have had him fitted with pointy ears, a sharp beak, and webbed, human -like hands. There was also another design that Ray Harryhausen had described as sort of a roundhead and he was unhappy with this particular design and he would eventually replace it with a new stall modeling after the Tyrannosaurus rex. As we know the monster was given a distinctive, four-leg stance to prevent it from looking like a typical carnivorous dinosaur.

Here is another piece of trivia in the name Rhedosaurus the first two letters in the name do spell out the name of Ray Harryhausen. Ray Harryhausen also mentions in a quote “I don’t know where his name came from,” he told Empire in 2012. “People say it’s based on my initials, but I don’t think it is.”

The Rhedosaurus also makes an appearance in the film “Planet of the Dinosaurs” is where Lee led the Tyrannosaurus rex across the Bering land, this is where we see a Rhedosaurus suddenly appear from behind a rock. The large dinosaur did in fact hiss at the man and then we see the Tyrannosaurus rex approaching the Rhedosaurus does in fact face in and being is one of the only dinosaurs that was large enough to challenge the tyrants that you dinosaur snarled at each other and snapped its jaws at each other. However the Tyrannosaurus rex would not be deterred. Lunging it grips the smaller dinosaur by the neck tore from the rock the Rhedosaurus was struggling to free itself but it was in May as the Tyrannosaurus rex drops it to the ground and closed its powerful drawls around the Rhedosaurus’s had crushing the skull.

Another interesting fact about this movie is that it as I mentioned before inspired Tomoyuki Tanaka to go ahead and create the film that came out in 1954 known as Godzilla: King of the Monsters.

This film also inspired by the success of the 1950 to re-release all King Kong (1933) was the first film to feature a giant creature that was awakened or mutated by a nuclear bomb.

clip_image018[5]

Some film aficionados might recognize Alvin Greenman, the first character to speak after the narrator, and the first to notice the beast on on the radar. Six years earlier he played Alfred, the Macys Janitor in Miracle on 34th Street (1947). TV aficionados though might recognize the second character to speak. Playing the part of Charlie is actor James Best, best remembered for his role as Sheriff Rosco P. Coltrane from The Dukes of Hazzard (1979).

Deleted Scene: The 2003 DVD release reveals one shot of the Rhedasaurus that was omitted from the final film. That shot can be found in the trailer for The Black Scorpion (1957) (in special features) about 1/2 through the preview. (Spoiler: The Beast is walking, breast high, toward screen right. The background shows 2 buildings; one of them with fire escapes. Superimposed title card states, “You’ve thrilled to the terror of The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms.”

Warner Brothers bought the film from producers Hal E. Chester and ‘Jack Deitz’ for $450,000.

When the radio announcer is reading the news about the monster’s rampage through New York, various shots of the city are shown, mostly with panicked citizens in the street. When the announcer mentions the situation at Times Square, the accompanying footage shows the Palace Theater, whose marquee reads “Judy Garland – Live and in Person.”

During the octopus/shark sequence, some of the footage was obviously shot in an aquarium, because some of the octopus’ suckers are gripping the glass.

In its original release prints of the film were processed in sepia tone. Some prints also had the underwater sequences tinted green.

(at around 38 mins) Prof. Elson (Cecil Kellaway) reads an article about a 1797 professor who was fired for claiming that he had seen leprechauns remove a tree. He continues “Today it’s monsters instead of leprechauns”. Tom Nesbitt (Paul Christian) then enters and asks “How certain are you there were no leprechauns?” Cecil Kellaway played a leprechaun in the 1948 film “The Luck of the Irish”.