The Mummy 2017 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

  • Directed by Alex Kurtzman.
  • Produced by Alex Kurtzman, Chris Morgan, Sean Daniel, and Sarah Bradshaw.
  • Screenplay by David Koepp, Christopher McQuarrie, and Dylan Kussman.
  • Story by Jon Spaihts, Alex Kurtzman, and Jenny Lumet.
  • Starring Tom Cruise, Annabelle Wallis, Sofia Boutella, Jay Johnson, Courtney B Vance, and Russell Crowe.
  • Companies Dark Universe, Perfect World Pictures, K/O Paper Products, Sean Daniel Company.
  • Distributed by Universal Pictures.
  • Release date for the film May 22, 2017 (State Theatre), and June 9, 2017 (United States of America).
  • Running Time is 110 minutes
  • Language Is English
  • Budget $125 million-$195 million
  • Box Office Success $405 million Worldwide.

What Is This Movie about?

The mummy is a 2017 American action-adventure film that is directed by Alex Kurtzman and it is a reboot of the Mummy franchise. This movie in itself actually premier at the State Theatre located in Sydney Australia on May 22, 2017. Now here is the hurtful thing about this bill it did receive negative reviews from critics however it did grossed over $405 million worldwide, so you tell me wasn’t a bad movie I don’t think so. They say it was labeled as a box office disappointment and that is because of the high production and marketing costs, with projected losses of around $95 million on this film alone.

Let’s Talk about the Synopsis of the Movie

1 Zeob4OvvjeCeoBJqYg6Eew

In 1127 A.D., several English crusader knights bury an Egyptian ruby within the tomb of one of their number. In present-day London, a construction crew discovers the tomb and a mysterious man is authorized to investigate the site.

In a flashback to the New Kingdom era, Princess Ahmanet is first in line to succeed her father Menehptre until his second wife gives birth to a son. Determined to claim the throne for herself, Ahmanet sells her soul to the Egyptian god Set, who agrees to help her if she uses a dagger to transfer his spirit into a corporeal form. After killing her family, Ahmanet attempts to sacrifice her lover to Set but is captured by her father’s priests and condemned to be mummified alive for eternity. Her sarcophagus is buried in Mesopotamia and submerged in a pool of mercury so that her monstrous form will not escape.

In present-day Iraq, soldier-of-fortune Nick Morton and his partner Chris Vail accidentally discover the tomb of Ahmanet after staging an airstrike on an insurgent stronghold. Jenny Halsey, an archaeologist who had a one-night stand with Nick, arrives and investigates the tomb, correctly concluding that it is a prison. After extracting Ahmanet’s sarcophagus from a pool of mercury, Nick’s superior, Colonel Greenway, places the sarcophagus on a transport plane headed to England. During the flight, Vail becomes possessed by Ahmanet’s power after being bitten by a camel spider while inside the tomb. After attempting to open the sarcophagus, he stabs Greenway and tries to attack the group, forcing Nick to shoot him dead. A huge murder of crows then assault the plane, causing it to crash and kill everyone on board except for Jenny, who is parachuted off the plane by Nick.

Nick awakens a day later in a morgue in Oxford, and learns from Vail’s ghost that he has been cursed by Ahmanet, who seeks to use him as a replacement vessel for Set. Ahmanet’s mummy escapes from the sarcophagus and begins feeding on rescue workers to regenerate her decomposed body. Turning the workers into zombie minions, she lures Nick and Jenny into a trap, forcing the two to fight off the minions as they unsuccessfully try to escape. Ahmanet also recovers the blade of the Dagger of Set from a reliquary in a nearby church. At the last second, unknown soldiers appear and subdue Ahmanet. Their leader, Dr. Henry Jekyll, explains that Jenny is an agent of Prodigium, a secret society dedicated to hunting supernatural threats. He confirms that Nick was cursed when he unlocked Ahmanet’s tomb and reveals his intention to complete her ritual and allow Set to possess Nick in order to destroy Set and end his evil forever.

a3ee427785aea2a8c4564f1059205ad5

Meanwhile, Ahmanet summons a scarab beetle to possess a Prodigium technician and frees herself from captivity, wreaking havoc, death, and destruction in the process. Jekyll is also seen to be succumbing to his own dark impulses and transforms into Edward Hyde, his murderous and psychotic alternate personality while Ahmanet wrecks havoc outside unknownst to them. And when Nick rebuffs Hyde’s offer of an alliance between them, Hyde attacks him. Nick manages to stop him with the serum Jekyll uses to suppress his evil side. He and Jenny then escape from Prodigium while Ahmanet steals back the dagger, summons an army of deceased English crusaders to serve her, and creates a massive sandstorm that ravages London. The undead knights slaughter the Prodigium soldiers in the tomb, allowing Ahmanet to recover the ruby and set it in the dagger’s pommel, granting her all she needs to free Set.

Guided by Vail, Nick and Jenny flee into the London Underground tunnels, but are attacked by Ahmanet’s minions. Ahmanet captures Jenny and drowns her, hoping to break her hold over Nick. Nick puts up a fight, but gives up and let’s himself embrace Ahmanet, using it as a ruse to steal the dagger and tries to destroy the ruby. However, he sees the lifeless Jenny and bets on stabbing himself. His body is possessed by Set, who proceeds to join Ahmanet to uphold his end of the bargain until he sees Jenny’s dead body, at which point Nick regains control and uses Set’s powers to overpower and suck the life out of Ahmanet, turning her back into a shriveled mummy. Nick harnesses Set’s powers to resurrect Jenny, saying goodbye before becoming overwhelmed by Set’s power and disappearing. Soon, Jenny regroups with Dr. Jekyll and they discuss if Nick, now fused with Set, will be good or evil. Ahmanet’s corpse is lowered into a locked pool of mercury within the Prodigium base for safekeeping. Later on in the desert, Nick resurrects Vail, and the two set out on an adventure.

The Production of the Mummy

clip_image002[6]

Let’s talk about the production of this movie!

As we all know Universal Pictures as plan to do a modern reboot of most of their Universal Monster Characters with them in a modern setting. These particular projects will go through multiple directors and this one was no exception to the rule. Len Wiseman eventually left the project in 2013 and a second director, Andrés Muschietti in 2014 until they finally got Alex Kurtzman to do the job.

Tom Cruise and the Demise of This Movie!

It seems that Tom Cruise began talks about playing the lead role in this bill back in November 2015. Along with Sofia Boutella she as well began talking back in December. Alex Kurtzman did in fact cast Sofia after seeing and was very impressed by her largely mute performance in the movie Kingsman: the Secret Service. One thing that Alex Kurtzman noticed was her eyes “if you look at her eyes, and this is what I got from watching Kingsman, there’s a whole performance going on here. And in not saying anything, but conveying that much to me, I thought oh my God, no matter how much prosthetics we put on her, no matter how much CG we put on her face, if I see this, she’s going to convey something very emotional to me.”

Other castings that happen after a while it was announced in between March and May that Russell Crowe would be joining the movie. Here is where I think the movie failed is when according to Variety they reported that Tom Cruise had excessive control over the film and firm control over nearly every aspect of the production and post-production, this also included actually rewriting the script and editing to his specifications, he one is for to even tell Alex Kurtzman how to actually direct on the set, and enlarging his role while downplaying Boutella’s role. Unfortunately Universal Pictures contractually granted Tom Cruise control of most aspects of the project, from script approval to post-production decisions. Now why they did that is beyond me but honestly this is where I think the film failed because they left him in control and they should’ve never done that. I think if Alex Kerman had total control this film possibly could have done better and at the same time could’ve been a completely different version altogether.

Let’s Talk a Little Bit on the Filming

images

During principal photography which began on April 3, 2016, in Oxford, United Kingdom, and also took place in Surrey. The filming of the movie did finally wrap up in July 17, 2016. Its last location was in London. Then the production actually moved to Namibia and natural connection two weeks along with principal photography on the film was finally completed on August 13, 2016.

Let’s Talk about the Actual Release of the Film

As we know the film was released in the United States and Canada on June 9, 2017 and the film was screened in various formats such as 2-D, 3-D, and IMAX 3-D.

Here are some interesting trivia based on this movie it was on December 20, 2016 that IMAX released a trailer with the wrong audio track attached to it. This unintentionally prompt the creation of memes and video montages that would feature the mistakenly included audio track. Which in fact was missing most of the sound effects and it did feature Tom cruises grunts and screams. It was then that IMAX reacted by taking down the trailer and issuing a DMCA takedown notice in the attempt to actually stop it from spreading.

On another keynote on May 22, 2017 when the Manchester arena bombing occurred universal did in fact cancel the films UK premiere which had been scheduled to take place in London on June 1, 2017.

To further elaborate on the success of this movie it was on August 14, 2017 that The Mummy did in fact rose $80.1 million in the United States and Canada. It also grossed $325.3 million in other territories around the world making it a total gross of $405.4 million worldwide. However I guess the combined production and advertising budget of around $345 million (that’s how much this movie cost are they crazy it must be totally CGI and that is where your cost comes in) the film had a worldwide opening of $172.4 million and this is the biggest global debut for a Tom Cruise film.

Advertisements

Power Rangers 2017 Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

Production Information

  • Directed by Dean Israelite
  • Produced by Haim Saban, Brian Casentini, Marty Bowen, Wyck Godfrey
  • Screenplay by John Gatins
  • Story by Matt Sazama, Burk Sharpless, Michele Mulroney, Kieran Mulroney
  • Based on Power Rangers by Haim Saban, Shuki Levy (uncredited), and Super Sentai by Toei Company
  • Running time 121 minutes
  • Country United States
  • Language English
  • Budget $105 million
  • Box office $142.3 million

Cast

  • Dacre Montgomery
  • Naomi Scott
  • RJ Cyler
  • Becky G
  • Ludi Lin
  • Bill Hader
  • Bryan Cranston
  • Elizabeth Banks

I will tell you this Power Rangers is an American entertainment and merchandising franchise built around the live action superhero television series. It was first produced by Saban Entertainment and then it was later produced by a new company called BVS entertainment and the in 2015 again was produced by another company called SCG Power Rangers (what this is I do not know). The show itself does take footage from the Japanese Tokusatsu “Super Sentai” this company that produces the “Super Sentai” has produced many many different Tokusatsu TV shows it is called Toei Company.

The very first Power Rangers entry is called Mighty Morphin Power Rangers and this is the show that I used to watch back in the 90s. Its actual debuted date was on August 28, 1993. It did in fact catapult into popular culture a line of action figures and other toys by the company Bandai. In 2010, the media franchise has generated over $5 billion in retail sales worldwide. Now that is pretty impressive for a line of toys.

power-rangers-movie-ending-explained

Even though the TV series initially received a certain amount of criticism for its action violence targeted towards a children’s audience. The franchise does in fact continue all the way up until 2016 the show consists of 23 television series seasons of 19 different themed series and two theatrical films with the third film coming out in 2017. This is a popular franchise believe it or not. Haim Saban, the creator of the series, did in fact regain ownership all the franchise after seven years under the company Walt Disney.

The Power Rangers also spalled at least 10 or 15 different video games in his entire career. I will list them you can find them on Wikipedia they do have a complete list.

My Thoughts on the Movie

The movie itself because we have not seen it yet I’m just going to assume it’s one of those typical Hollywood type films. It is definitely origin based movie where the Power Rangers are young kids that gain certain powers. They also gain a special suit to wear were in the original TV series I believe it was made these are created through alien technology. There are some changes according to the movie.

Now we will talk about the movie itself is billed as Saban’s Power Rangers this is an upcoming movie that’s coming out later on this year in 2017 and is directed by Dean Israelite and it is written by John Gatin’s who has written for all the movie such as Flight (Denzel Washington), Real Steel (Hugh Jackman), and also very anticipated movie Kong: Skull Island. The film itself is definitely based on the franchise and adjust our some unknown actors with the exception of Bill Hader, Bryan Cranston (Godzilla 2014) and a very sexy Elizabeth Banks.

power-rangers-movie-references

This film does serve as a reboot and a reimagining for the franchise. It also marks the very first Power Ranger film in the 21st century. Phil does feature some of the main characters from Mighty Morphin Power Rangers however it is portrayed by a new cast. This film is absolutely produced by Haim Saban under his private equity investment firm. The movie is set to be released on March 24, 2017.

I am definitely going to check this out not in the theaters, but wanted comes out on DVD. I’m sure it will be a good movie for the kids to watch. I used to watch this back in the day and thought it was interesting because I myself was a kid for the most part when watching. Because at that time I was into martial arts big time and for obvious reasons this TV show is all about martial arts. Anyway looking forward to checking this out when you come down DVD I won’t check it out in the theater I am not curious to do that. Anyway looking forward to it!

Jurassic World: Is It Hit or Miss?

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

Jurassic water dinosaur

Hello everyone welcome to my very first review outside of the Kaiju genre. I decided to do one on the Jurassic Park series and this one is based on the newest incarnation called Jurassic World. This particular movie stars Bryce Dallas Howard and Chris Pratt they in fact defend both dinosaur and human lives in this particular movie. This particular movie in most people’s opinions can give you exactly what you asked for and maybe just a little bit more.

Okay so you like gigantic freakishly large fish that eat dinosaurs as well as people this is the movie for you. This movie does hint a lot on the past arrested part movies as you will see a lot of suggestions all to the movies these are called Easter eggs you will see a lot of these in this movie if you are paying attention.

Let’s begin with my take on the movie “Jurassic World” is the very first sequel since “Jurassic Park” the Steven Spielberg classic that came out in 1993 that honestly does not shame or mock sissy of the two movies came out which were “The Lost World: Jurassic Park” which came out in 1997 and the third and probably the worst one of the bunch that literally insults the T Rex is “Jurassic Park 3” these are the other two sequels that were probably the worst of the bunch.

It would be 22 years later that the dream of John Hammond was actually squashed by a bunch of rampaging velociraptors in a dinosaur theme park that open exactly 22 years ago or almost opened. Is now 22 years later and that very same park would open its doors 22 years later on the very same island is Ilsa Nublar only this time it is much more renovated however the same results happen once again 22 years later. One knows about these films there is always a gigantic antagonist that somehow roams it for everybody and this was no exception.

The park is now run by a very uptight Claire (Bryce Dallas Howard) who was worried about the profits and the investors and even the attendance of the park. It is a little-known fact that the original part resembled a wildlife reserve this particular park has been renovated to look more like a Sea World (especially when keeping the animals isolated in captivity) in the original film the dinosaurs are genetically altered and created on a different island then brought back over to the silent however that is not the case with this they are all done on the same island.

On a keynote like that there is a lot of commercialization in the snow you can see restaurants like Winston Steakhouse which is a tribute to Stan Winston. There is also a Starbucks as well. His wife say corporations are starting to take over this country and that includes Hollywood. This particular movie broke a record on its opening weekend it did worldwide accumulate $500 million and that my friends is quite impressive when the new Godzilla movie in total accumulated a little over $500 million so that tells you one thing dinosaurs away more popular in Godzilla!

The one thing at a really care about in this movie is the fact that we have Chris Pratt who has magical powers and can control velociraptors this did make any sense in my opinion they are treating these dinosaurs as if there were dogs and they are predatory creatures and no one really knows what their nature was in the past but that’s how they perceive it here in this movie I don’t care too much for this part though it was useful later on. The whole entire story centers around a hybrid T Rex type dinosaur they call “Indominus Rex” this particular creature has a DNA that was genetically modified from cuttlefish, tree frogs, T Rex, and I believe velociraptors.

91EMmnUYizL._SY679_

Don’t get me wrong sure a lot of people would agree they love this particular dinosaur but it did not overly impress me to me it was just an altered T Rex with very similar qualities it really didn’t stand out. Other than the fact it was a little bigger than a T Rex and I had a large mouth and arms like that of a Spinosaurus. Its strength was not that much stronger than a T Rex as a T Rex she did get the better of him however the most impressive dinosaur in this film is “Mososaur” he is the baddest one of the bunch as he is the largest one of the bunch. Back to the Indominus Rex it didn’t overly impress me especially when I was fighting the T Rex however the fight with the T Rex did bring him back to King status as he eventually did take out the Indominus Rex to the point where the Mosasaur snatched them off the dock and pulled him into the water killing him.

They say that the T Rex in the end of the movie is a very same T Rex I was any original Jurassic Park film however I have to say something about the CGI I don’t think it’s as good as the original for some reason the T Rex in this film doesn’t look good and the film in the background is too dark but that’s just my thinking on that.

The entire film was a typical Jurassic Park type film it had some great dinosaur sequences which you see in most Jurassic Park films anyway. All in all this film was really good but was expected to be just a dinosaur movie and is nothing more than that it’s like all the other Jurassic Park films they have one giant antagonist and it sounds around him and then you have a bunch of dinosaurs that follow suit. There was one thing I did take notice when the kids were inside the spinning severe I don’t know what to call it but I notice when it’s started to accelerate the dinosaurs automatically follow them.

Now I’m no dinosaur expert but honestly I don’t think anybody on the planet knows their nature or would even think that these dinosaurs would actually chase them but who knows they might just drop me funny there. Anyway I’ll have too much bad to say about it if I would compare it to the other Jurassic Park films is pretty much the same in that aspect like I mentioned before. There are a lot of people on Facebook that get a little overexcited which don’t get me wrong they’re entitled to that. Anyway this film is what it is actually does complement the other three films is just as good as the other three films if not better is a perfect film to add to the other three films. If you haven’t seen this film yet you won’t be disappointed but keep in mind is very typical and it does have a lot of similarities to the other movies like I mentioned before but it is interesting to say the least. .

10 Cloverfield Lane: Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address- bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

Monsters Come in Many Forms

Is this the second movie to Cloverfield? Or is a completely different movie. This review is a basic understanding of the second movie and how I feel about it as well as some basic trivia and interesting facts about this movie. Let’s begin with the actual synopsis to the movie.

Synopsis

10 Cloverfield Lane is an American science-fiction psychological thriller that was directed by Dan Trachtenberg and he was released in 2016. It starred John Goodman, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, and John Gallagher Jr. is technically the second film to the Cloverfield series of films. This film is centered on a script that was titled “The Cellar” under the guidance of the company called Bad Robot and a sanity that this film turned into a spiritual successor to the 2008 psychological film Cloverfield.

The film starts out with a young woman who, after a car crash, wakes up in an underground bunker with two men who insist that strange events have left the surface of Earth uninhabitable this is what she was told. The film was released on March 11, 2016 in conventional and IMAX theaters. The film in itself received positive reviews from critics the audience on the other hand that is a different story. The film itself garnered a total gross of $108 million worldwide which is not bad for film like this.

What I Thought about the Film

This is a film just like the first one that seem to concentrate a little too much on the human character and nowhere near enough on the starring character. That would be the actual monsters unfortunately you don’t get to see them until the end of the film. The very first Cloverfield film was just that and Cloverfield in itself was a shaky camera documentary style film, and I will tell you I am definitely not a big fan of that. When I left the theater I literally had a headache it’s just not a good film to watch in that aspect. This film however did not have a shaky camera bullshit that the first one had however in my opinion it was very boring human character wise as I tend to skip throughout the entire movie. Towards the end of the film you do eventually see a spacecraft it’s been a while since I’ve seen it but I believe it crash lands or a creature comes out of it unfortunately I can’t remember what the creature looks like, but I will tell you this they usually do a fantastic job on the creature designs. All in all this film is typical Cloverfield type films in my opinion not anyone else’s the storyline concentrates too much on human characters with a very cool creature affect towards the end. I’m not a big fan of this type of film. JJ Abrams is famous for this. The movie super eight was the exact same situation 90% human character and then you finally see the creature. Too much of that going on in my opinion, but there is a plus to this whole thing it keeps the Kaiju genre alive.

Trivia

This film was Mary Elizabeth Winstead’s first and only choice for the lead role of Michelle.

A little-known quirky piece of trivia why this is I do not know, but the cast members weren’t told the title of the movie dorm production this was to preserve the secret as long as he possibly can.

The name of the actual gas station that Michelle stops at to refuel is named “Kelvin”. This is an Easter I for one of JJ Abrams projects it was a tribute to his maternal grandfather his name was Henry Kelvin who owned an electronics company and influenced Abrams as a boy.

The slushy brand they call “Slusho” was from the original film Cloverfield that came out in 2008 also appeared in the window of a convenience store in this film. (There’s the connection LOL)

According to producer JJ Abrams this bill is considered a “blood-relative” to the original Cloverfield film (2008).

John Goodman’s character in one scene is watching the movie “Pretty in Pink” which came out in 1986. In that movie, Molly Ringwald’s character as a hobby of making dresses. This is a subtle allusion to Mary Elizabeth Winstead’s character in this movie, as she also dreams of being a seamstress.

If you listen closely to the alien spaceship it does in fact make a roar that is very similar if not the same roar to the Cloverfield monster.

Conclusion

In conclusion as you have read this you know I’m not a big fan of these kind of films after those who do appreciate these kind of films these are great films for those common people. Not for me (I am sorry to say) I will tell you this this film as it is rich in does take place in the same universe as the Cloverfield film however there is no apparent connection between the two films producer JJ Abrams has stated that the studio has a plan to tie the two films together as well as a possible or possible future films in the franchise to literally tie them together. That is the plan! Furthermore there was a conversation during the film that Michelle, Emmet do have a conversation about Howard’s theory about space worms. This directly foreshadows the physical appearance all the alien life form that Michelle encounters at the end of this film. This is where I say the creature concepts are absolutely amazing in these films. It is an enjoyable film if you haven’t seen it already go ahead and check it out once and you can draw your own conclusion.

The Meg 2018 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address – bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

Movie Information

  • Movie Release Date-August 10, 2018
  • Director: Jon Turteltaub
  • Studio: Warner Bros.
  • Genre: Action/Adventure
  • Topics: Ocean Creatures
  • Run time: 113 minutes
  • MPAA rating: PG-13
  • MPAA explanation: action/peril, bloody images and some language

Now when doing a movie review we need to point out certain aspects about these films. The first thing we need to ask ourselves what parents need to know about this film. I will tell you this The Meg is definitely an action movie with a prehistoric gigantic shark and a team of heroes that is led by Jason staff as a try to stop this creature. Know what about this film should parents be aware of is loaded with all kinds of blood and this includes wounds, blood swirling in the water etc.…

We definitely cannot forget the shark attacks as they are often sudden and startling at the same time. I also like to mention that this bill is also loaded with lots of explosions and yes a ton of destruction and carnage. There are many different mangled sharks and sea creatures that are shown and it even shows a woman is accidentally stabbed with a screwdriver and there is also a scene were a young girl is briefly in danger. Also I like to mention that the dog that is swimming in the water is also in danger however it does come back to safety.

Like most movies today and they are filled with indecent words that are not appropriate for younger audiences. Now with that being said let us get into the actual movie review and what I thought about the film.

As we all know there is a wealthy investor and his name is Jack Morris (Rainn Wilson) does travel to China to see his new research station and this man is a billionaire. Now this research station had discovered that there is a layer of frozen gas which they thought was part of the sea floor. They somehow managed to break through only to discover there is a giant creature lurking below.

Now this particular part is interesting on a scientific level as they soon discover what it is that is down there. I found this quote quite interesting as in most scientific type movies or any kind of monster movie there is always a certain level of science to it and it does not make it interesting for these type of movies. Anyway they soon discover that there is a gigantic prehistoric Megalodon that everyone assumed was extinct. Now I realize that it does exist and yes it does manage to escape that frozen cavern and wreak havoc in the local area.

Now that it does manage to escape they leave it up to Jonas (Jason Statham) and a shark expert Suyin (Bingbing Li) as well as the rest of the team in order to stop this gigantic shark.

Now this film in itself and this is to be expected like most shark films draws premise from the original Jaws which came out June 20, 1975 and most movies that come out that are based on a shark has a lot to do with the premise of this movie as well. The movie does start off quite well as it does have some clever scientific discovery which I mentioned earlier which in my opinion could have been explored a little bit more as we can possibly discovered something other than the Megalodon. There is no telling what was in that ice pocket

Before actually seeing this movie we pretty much know if you are a shark fan what this movie is going to be simply about. As I mentioned before it takes a lot of the elements from the original movie Jaws. The only exception is the fact that this particular gigantic shark is totally CGI. Now there are a lot of reviewers out there that will criticize the action sequence as being not exactly terrible, certainly clunky, and they also mention that there are plenty of large meaningless, largely bloodless slaughter’s that does not have any impact. That is their opinion in my opinion some of the action sequences in this film I thoroughly enjoyed especially when we soon discover that there was an even larger Megalodon that suddenly destroys the ship and bites down on the dead Megalodon. This in my opinion was unexpected but a very cool scene just to say the least.

index

One thing I like to point out is that in the beginning of the movie there is a famous one-liner that was said that is synonymous to all shark movies and some aspects that go ahead and say “there something out there!”.

Now this film’s premise is more along the lines of Jaws meets the abyss in this long-awaited adaption of Steve Alten’s 1997 novel that is simply called Meg and it did spawn a total of 6 sequels. With that being said I will end this movie review with this thought it was a good movie with decent CGI and the action sequence I found they were quite comfortable to watch. Like most movies they have a tendency to be a little boring and certain aspects however because I like gigantic shark movies this one was well scripted in my opinion as a story was not really boring at all it kept me enthralled throughout the entire movie.

That honestly does not always happen with me. A prime example of this would be Godzilla 2014 as I began to watch that movie and finish watching the movie there were some spots that did bore me a lot and the only thing about the film in my opinion was the action sequence and some other aspects about the film were okay. This movie did a little bit better for me as I do like the actors and actresses in this film and the storyline was pretty decent and it was typical in some aspects however I did not mind that part because we all know it is a short movie and this is honestly to be expected. All in all this is a pretty decent movie to watch.

With This Being Said Let Us Get into Some Interesting Facts and Trivia Based on This Film.

If you have not seen this film yet and you do not want to be spoiled my suggestion is not to read from this point on!

Let us go ahead and jump right into some spoilers…

1. In the book, the Megalodon’s were classified as pure white and almost luminescent and this is from living in an environment that virtually had no light whatsoever. However that particular color does proved to be too difficult to render in CGI while still trying to look realistic, so the Megalodon’s were actually: in the same color as a great white shark instead.

2. The actress Ruby Rose almost literally drowned on the set.

3. Eli Roth was at one time attached to direct this film however he was replaced by Jon Turteltaub. Roth left due to creative differences with the studio, namely that he wanted the film to maintain both its R-rating and a $150 million budget. It was also rumored that Roth, on top of writing and directing, also wanted to play the lead role of Jonas, but the studio believed he did not have the star power.

4. Now in the film just before the Meg does attack Suyin while she is in the plastic shark cage, you can hear a fast-paced version of the cello theme music from the movie Jaws which came out in 1975.

5. The Meg was actually filmed in New Zealand.

6. The actor Jason Statham is actually an expert swimmer in real life and did in fact represent England in 1990 during the Commonwealth games diving category although he did fail to win. There is footage of him competing you can deftly find this online. Possibly on YouTube. There are a lot of shots of him in the water and they are real and there is also based on global that was only used for the most had hazardous stunts. Outside of that he did most of his stones in the water.

7. This film is actually based on a book called “Meg: a Novel of Deep Terror” this is the first book that was written by the author Steve Alten.

8. At one given point or another Jason Statham’s character, Jonas, literally jumped in the water and start singing to himself, “just keep swimming, just keep swimming…” This is a homage to the character in the animated film “Dory in finding Nemo” which came out in 2003.

9. Now according to the book the Meg only attacked at night since living in the deep water made his eyes super sensitive to the light. It only attacked in daylight when it had been blinded during the course of the book. The movie, however, had the Meg literally in daylight with no consequences.

indexsss

10. Now this film was initially going to be set up at Disney back in 1997 when the book was actually first published. There was a bid which cost the studio nearly USD1 million. The project eventually went into a turnaround after Disney call cold feet after competing with Warner Bros. 1999 killer shark film Deep Blue Sea. Alten, frustrated at the lack of movement based on this project he did in fact write his own draft which he did show to Nick Nunziata, who then in turn delivered to Guillermo del Toro. Del Toro took the project to Lawrence Gordon and Lloyd Levin, who brought on Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life (2003) director Jan De Bont to helm.

11. Now the author of this book his daughter also made an appearance in this film as an extra.

12. The name of the event you do see swimming in the water is named Pippin and this is according to the actual lab in the film Jaws which came out in 1975 that lab was called Pippit.

13. Now here is something interesting in the early stages of development for this film they wanted George Clooney to star in this film.

14. The name of the boat at the end of this film is called “Charlotte” and this is also the name of the ship Benjamin Franklin Gates searches for in the film national treasure which came out in 2004 and that was also directed by Jon Turtltaub.

15. Here is another interesting fact about this film it was originally budgeted for USD130-USD178 million as well as an additional USD140 million for advertisement. The film will need to gross at least USD400 million in order for it to break even. So far as of August 31, 2018 it has made a total of USD416 million so it did in fact breakeven or just a little bit above that.

16. The Meg which came out in 2018 does market return of a noted film producer Gerald R Molen back to Hollywood filmmaking.

17. Here is something quite interesting when Disney Hollywood pictures first bought the rights to the novel back in 1996 they did in fact higher Tom Wheeler is a television writer and producer to write a screenplay for the movie. However, his script was not considered to be a very good script so Disney went ahead and hired another screenwriter Jeffrey Boam, who was most well-known for writing scripts for films such as Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade which came out in 1989, The Lost Boys which came out in 1987, Innerspace which came out in 1987, Lethal Weapon 2 which came out in 1989, and Lethal Weapon 3 which came out in 1992, but his screenplay was also rejected for the same reasons as Wheelers.

18. When New Line Cinema took over the project back in 2005 there was in fact another script that was written by Shane Salerno, writer of both Alien Vs. Predator films, and Jan De Bont was also involved in it as well as a director and Guillermo Del Toro as a producer, but ultimately it did get canceled once again.

19. The Gliders that were used in the climax of this film are named Robert Byrd and Ernest Shackleford.

MV5BMzlhZjAyYjktNjg3Ny00YjJkLTgwMTAtODRmZmU5M2VkZjU2XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMzk0MjQ0NQ@@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,678,1000_AL_

20. Actress Li Bingbing and Ruby Rose both appeared in the films from the Resident Evil Franchise. Li appeared in Resident Evil: Retribution (2012) and Rose appeared in Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2016).

21. This film does pay homes to multiple versions of other films in various scenes and shots. The most notable is Jaws 1975, but other film references include Jaws 3 which came out in 1983 and The Abyss which came out in 1989 this is a great film. However the scenes are too numerous to mention all of them.

22. Now let us get into some more spoilers now according to the book, Jonas does kill the Meg by driving down its throat and landing inside the belly, then ripping out the heart from within. In the movie, Jonas slices the Meg across the belly and lets hundreds of sharks devour it.

23. In the book, Jonas is trying to fix a broken Unis system and in the film itself; however, he is trying to save a submersible that is carrying his ex-wife.

24. At the end of the film when the shark is killed the same sound effect is heard that was used in the original film Jaws which came out in 1975 when the shark was killed and also in the movie Duel (both directed by Steven Spielberg) when the truck goes over the cliff.

25. Now according to the book the Meg does give birth to 3 pups 2 of which do die and the lone survivor who is now called Angel would be the poster child for the next “Meg” book. In the film however the shark never gets pregnant nor does it offer any offspring at least not around knowledge. .

Ghostbusters 2016 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address- bbuckley@triad.rr.com

clip_image002

Will bustin’ make you feel good all over again?

This is a modern adaption although 1984 classic “Ghostbusters”. This particular version stars Melissa McCarthy as Abby Yates, Kristen Wiigs as Erin Gilbert, Kate McKinnon as Jillian Holtzman, and Leslie Jones as Patty Tolan and finally Chris Hemsworth as Kevin. This film was directed by Paul Feig and the writers are based on the 1984 film “Ghostbusters” is written by Harold Ramis, Dan Aykroyd, Ivan Reitman of the writers are Paul Feig, Katie Dippold. This particular film is classified as an action, comedy, horror, science fiction film. It is rated PG-13 for supernatural action and some crude humor. The film itself is approximately 116 minutes long.

The Film in Review

It seems a major high and probably the biggest gripe about this film that it is totally lady-fied “Ghostbusters” like reboot which in fact probably ruined most childhood memories. This is another prime example of what Hollywood has done from other past films to try and totally in rich it’s present and original concepts for new reboots.

Yes it seems that there are all a lot of people out there that are totally disturbed by this remake, and probably a little-known fact that no one is actually stealing these movies to burn them on DVDs as copies as compared to the original 1984 film. We all know this not to be true. There is obviously a lot of misplaced misogynistic hostility that has been slowly destroying the reputation of the director Paul Feig’s gender reassignment redo.

Let’s get to the film at hand I actually did finally get to see it and like most people before actually seeing it and trashing the film to the points that I would literally hesitate watching it. However I persevere on and watched it and found it not to be as bad as people think. It was a modern adaption although 1984 version with obvious better special-effects and the ghosts and that includes Slimer always a brand-new ghosts including the Stay Puff Marshmallow Man, Rowan the Destructor which is very similar to the Stay Puff Marshmallow Man and the Dragon like ghost they call Mayheim as mentioned there are some pretty cool looking ghosts in this film.

It does have its positive points the music in my opinion is a little too modern and sometimes that’s not good. Is nowhere near like the classic 1984 soundtrack. But the film itself was given a refreshing different point of view on the whole ghost attack on New York City very cool.

The CGI in this film looks spectacular and then not so much a prime example of not so much would be Slimer he looked a little too plastic for me. I do like this character and in this film he manages to have a family and manages to steal the Ecto-1a car. And drive all over the city and every so often he would get to catch a glimpse of it.

The storyline in my opinion is okay it’s different however not as refreshing or original as a 1984 version. All and all this film is actually worth watching once maybe twice. If you are into supernatural/horror/action films this one is not too bad to watch. These are my thoughts I did like the film were the majority of people who where she so all it as usual have their opinions and didn’t like the film for their own personal reasons. I didn’t mind it I thought it was different. It’s one of those films that in a long time has garnered a lot of negativity and lost a lot of money in the process, but turns out to be one of the movies that I like to watch.

Godzilla: City on the Edge of Battle 2018 Movie Review

Written by Barney Buckley

Email Address-bbuckley@triad.rr.com

Godzilla_City_on_the_Edge_of_Battle_-_Cast_reveal_Twitter_background_-_Alternate

Well it seems that the 2n animated Godzilla film all the trilogy is now been released on Netflix and I just got done watching it and I want to give you my thoughts on this film. As we all know this is the sequel to “Godzilla: Planet of the Monsters” as this film is about the alliance of humans and the Bilusaludo trying to defeat Godzilla on a future Earth which hadn’t been inhabited (at least by humans) for about 20,000 years.

Now I will warn you if you have not seen this film yet I will not stop on the spoilers here in this movie review, but if you have then you know what’s going to happen. But some friendly advice if you don’t want to be spoiled do not read this as it will spoil you.

Now as we all know in the last film towards the end we were under the assumption that Godzilla was destroyed, but wouldn’t you know it, that wasn’t a real positive ending for the humans. Simply because what exploded out of the mountain was an even bigger Godzilla the biggest Godzilla to date often is bigger. This Godzilla is the original Godzilla that 1st showed up in the 20th century and it does stand over 315 m tall.

My Review

godzillaanime2656

The setting begins with Harou is being rescued by what seems to be an indigenous human being and this film does continue from where Godzilla: Planet of the Monsters ends at. As we all know continue to now try to battle Godzilla as a slave to come up with a plan and the story continues on. I will tell you this it does get a little boring as this movie does not have much action until almost towards the end. This is where a lot of people would complain and stand her and say it wasn’t a good movie. It seems that people thrive on action instead of actually appreciating the storyline for what it is.

The interesting thing about this film is the indigenous people a lot of people assumed towards the end of the 1st film they were under the assumption that the girl rescued Harou was a Mothra priestess. However they are interesting as they are not completely human in this film they are a blend of Mechagodzilla. This is where it gets strange but interesting.

The indigenous people have very cool looking markings very similar to the indigenous tribes that you see on the island that held King Kong in the movie Kong: Skull Island. They have very cool markings in this film as well. Now here is where it gets a little strange and to me this was a positive and a negative as treated Mechagodzilla that we technically never actually see in this film. What has transpired from the original Mechagodzilla that was created years ago when Godzilla 1st showed up and had evolved.

Godzilla-City-on-the-Edge-of-Battle-trailer-screenshot-600x351

It did evolve into something completely different than you would expect. It had changed in the course of 20,000 years into a city and it was called Mechagodzilla city and what transpires after that is the soldiers and humans create smaller robots known as “The Vultures” as they are winged machines that fly very fast and have very exceptional weapons that make Godzilla Earth a little disturbed. This is because they are made of the nano metal that created the original Mechagodzilla. As you see where I’m saying it’s getting kind of strange but interesting at same time. This was kind of cool, but I was hoping to see a full-blown version of a mechanized version of Godzilla Earth however that is not the case.

As time progresses there is a full-blown out war between these machines and Godzilla Earth and again the humans somehow managed to destroy Godzilla Earth social plate just like Godzilla Fillius that they were going to kill in that way and it did not work out the way they plan.

hqdefault

They do manage to take him down however he has his new weapon where he almost turns into a burning Godzilla. The heat from his body increases to over 1000° pretty close to what happened to the burning Godzilla before he melted down. They were wondering why he didn’t explode and it is because this is a different Godzilla altogether. And yes he does manage to survive and the story will continue with the next movie that again here is a spoiler it will feature King Ghidorah.

This is my all-time favorite enemy of Godzilla, so yes I guarantee you I am looking forward to this and how they treat him and how he will look I am very curious. Anyway to make a long story short the story was a little long and boring in my opinion but not that bad as it does pick up towards the end. It just continues from the 1st one which I found refreshing and different however this continues the film so that’s where kind of makes it a little boring, but it does pick up towards the end.

godzilla-city-on-the-edge-of-battle

Now let’s talk a little bit about the animation of the film I will tell you this I love the visuals. Yes Godzilla himself and some of the related creatures that are clones or they spawn from Godzilla Earth are very cool to say the least. There were some tentacle -like creatures that a lot of people would assume good event Biollante as those tentacles were very similar to Biollante’s. That is another spoiler for you.

Watch past the credits of Godzilla: City on the Edge of Battle, and pay attention to conversations with the non-human races: it wouldn’t surprise me if the next threat turns out to be planet sized.